On Monday 9th July our beautiful little girl turned 15 Months old.

Here is the latest update of what the last month has entailed, apologies for the late posting, I’ve just not been able to get my act together over the last few months but endeavour to keep this up.

Well hasn’t the weather been INCREDIBLE?! Wow! This is like the summers of my childhood. Heady days of outdoor activities and sun kissed skin. Now you will never hear me complain about the sun or the heat but with tiny ones it can be a pain

We’ve been filling our time with early morning beach trips then home for the hottest parts of the day to wallow in the paddling pool in the shade of the parasol and finding things to do inside out of the blazing sunshine.

We’ve also frequented a local holiday park to make use of their water play park and softplay facilities.

I suppose the big news in this house is that, this last month has seen DS’ transition sessions at his new school and making sure I’ve purchased all his uniform… my days, where have those 4 Years gone?

Health

All good, barring a very mild and short lived summer cold.

Sleep

This continues in the same vein as before. 6.30 bedtime (mostly, but should a nap go awry then it messes this time up a bit). During the night she still has a few wake ups which generally end up with her in my bed, or me on a makeshift bed with her on her floor (when OH is home) so that I can settle her quickly AND get some rest myself. It works, don’t judge me!

Development

Movement

She is so close to making several independent steps. She is often found standing unaided in the middle of the room, having stood herself up with no assistance, she just needs the confidence to make those first steps. Don’t get me wrong, she’s staggered a few unsupported steps but they are a stagger rather than a controlled walk. She walks happily holding onto just a finger but when you let go she mostly drops into a crawl.

Communication

She continues to point to things she wants (pats my chest for boob, points to cup or tap for water, points to a toy she wants, points upstairs or downstairs depending on what she wants).

Verbally you can see her trying to form new sounds with her mouth, she studies our faces when we talk and tries to mimic them. She’s blowing raspberries, blowing kisses and now started saying ‘Ning’ which I’m convinced is for ‘Noah’

Emotional

She is definitely a feisty one, this one. She can be known to throw herself to the floor, face down screaming, when she doesn’t get her own way. God help us when she reaches the terrible twos. We were so lucky with DS, we’re bound to suffer greatly with her.

Despite the above, she’s a content little soul and is often found just busying herself with something or other. Unlike DS she doesn’t need our CONSTANT input for play. Though I wonder whether that’s because DS is always around for her to watch… he is obviously far more fascinating than we are.

Favourites

Sand pit and paddling pool are the top of the favourites list at the moment. She adores being outside and favours this to any indoor activity.

Birds: These creatures still fascinate her, though we have discovered that chickens and peacocks absolutely terrify her, courtesy of the Otter Park’s residents.

Weaning

She continues to eat pretty much anything we place in front of her, for now. I’m sure this will change but for now I’m relishing in it.

Teeth

No visual signs of anything new but I suspect she has some movement, she’s upped her boob and is drooling quite a lot.

Growth

21Ibs 6oz which means she is following the 50th centile line nicely.

Clothing she is still largely in 9-12 Months. Nappies: Size 3

Me

Weight: it has been such a roller coaster this month. I ended up gaining an horrific amount and climbed to 9 stone 10, but somehow (don’t ask how) I had a couple of cracking losses and at the time of this update had gone down to 9 stone 3.5Ib meaning I’m half a pound outside my target range… huzzah.

Things at home are MUCH better. OH has been in a fantastic mood which has made everything so much better which in turn has meant we’re actually enjoying being together, and getting on for a change.

Life is good

Leave a comment