Yesterday our beautiful little girl turned a month old. Such a small amount of time but already I’m cursing time for going too quickly and can’t remember, nor imagine, life without her in it.

The last four weeks have been a whirlwind romance, from the moment I set eyes on her, before I set eyes on her, I was besotted and have fallen deeper and deeper in love with her.

I worried I wouldn’t have enough love to accommodate her aswell as her amazing older brother but I needn’t have worried. It’s true, your heart is like a tardis!

I worried that I would have to ‘borrow’ love from DS to give to Peanut and that my love for him would lessen, as it turns out watching how he dotes on his ‘baby sisty’ has made me love him even more, if that was at all possible.

We are currently settling in to not only life as a family of four, but also into a new family home now that we have finally left our stinky one bed flat. 

Peanut:

Weight: At last week’s weigh in clinic Peanut weighed 8Ib 11oz

After initial concerns about her weight gain we have no worries anymore, she is nicely following the 50th centile.

She has been plagued by a blocked nose pretty much since birth so saline nasal spray is a constant companion

Sleep: Now this is pretty good. DS used to sleep and eat, eat and sleep, ad nauseum pretty much in two hourly cycles. Peanut, on the other hand, since birth has had large amounts of wakeful time which I thought unheard of for a newborn, but also long stints of sleep, especially at night which is a result. The only problem being she can take up to two hours to resettle, whereas DS took half hour to feed and go back to sleep, it occurs to me that you can never win.

Feeding: After an initial wobble where she didn’t patch very well, didn’t seem interested and fed for a small amount of time she’s now come into her own. Her latch is excellent and she comes away when she’s done which DS never did. She clusters late afternoon which is far better for my sanity than late evening. All is well (fingers crossed) with our bfing journey.

Poos: We’ve just had a spate of no poos which isn’t concerning, especially for EBF babies. 4 days she went without going, if you get my drift and since she started going again it is a perfect Dijon mustard consistency and to the point of properly filling the nappy now. It’s lost that newborn flecked appearance.

Me:

Lochia: I am now at the pinky turning yellow part of this delightful stage of post partum recovery.

If you were wondering what the stages were…


Weight: I bit the bullet and went to Slimming World last week and I’m officially back at my starting weight again + 4Ibs… depressing! I also couldn’t have chosen a worst week to attempt to start as moving house has meant 3 nights of takeaways, no lunches, junky breakfasts and lots of sweets, chocolates and biscuits. This week however I’m on it having eaten all the crap that was in the fridge.

Boobs: Are the size of boulders but behaving, no blocked ducts as of yet.

**Posted a week late due to lack of internet.**

Leave a Reply

