This Sunday DD is 4 whole weeks old and today is the day we FINALLY say goodbye to our beachside one bed flat.

I’m sat here feeding, its 3.30am and I’m watching Gilmore Girls whilst surrounded by boxes and wondering why I’m not in the least bit excited.

I have kind of put myself in a place to protect myself where this move is concerned. Why? Because the house was supposed to be ready in February/March and since then the goal posts have been constantly moved and to protect myself from the stress I’ve just ‘accepted’ that we’re NOT moving and focused on getting Peanut here.

So this has been pretty much the situation until Monday when OH did a site tour and agreed to ‘accept’ some minor snags to not further delay completion (we are close to our mortgage extension and don’t want to exceed that). On Tuesday they rang and said Friday we complete… Friday, three days time, Friday. On Wednesday they said it would be next week as they couldn’t organise removals (of course not, they kind of need more notice than that), 2 hours later it was all on again, they had contacted a different removal company. A removal company who did its survey using our sales pictures from Roght Move… really? These pictures don’t show the void of doom where half our life has been boxed since our sale fell through last year, the pictures don’t show the two MASSIVE cupboards literally full to bursting, the pictures don’t show the shed outside that’s packed to the rafters and it also doesn’t show all the stuff I obviously hid for the photos. Needless to say the packers arrived yesterday TOTALLY unprepared for the mammoth task thinking this was a small one bedder. This meant a couple of the ‘characters’ were far from warm in their presence.

To say I was embarrassed is an understatement and a little cross that these people were making me embarrassed as I’m sure they have more than just a couple of cartons of stuff in their own homes.

Anyway, we’re here. Removal day. DS has got school this morning and I’m hoping that we’ll have the keys before we have to pick him up and get the bulk done but if not I’m going to leave OH to sort them out, punishment for being on the Isle of Man all week and leaving me to deal with everything up until today on my own with a newborn and toddler.

So, am I excited yet? Not one bit, just stressed to the hilt and worried about where we’re going to put everything at the other end.

I’ll up date you later.

Wish me luck.

Gah

Leave a Reply

