I have been gathering things together for the hospital bag for a week or so now. I have bought pretty much everything I need it’s just the packing now that OH is home and has brought my bag back.

So what’s in it?

Toilet Bag:

  • Haemorrhoid Cream: An absolute ESSENTIAL. After giving birth to DS I had the most horrific piles which meant evacuating my bowels was quite a traumatic and scary experience which I put off. I was using Anusol to absolutely zero effect. My MW finally told me about Anusol with Hydrocortisone on about day 5 post birth and it was a revelation. Literally one application was enough so that was THE first thing packed in my toilet bag.
  • Shower gel
  • Shampoo and Conditioner
  • Toothbrush and toothpaste
  • Mouthwash 
  • Facial cleansing wipes
  • Moisturiser
  • Hand cream
  • Lip balm 
  • Deodorant
  • Hair bands
  • Hairbrush
  • Lansinoh nipple cream
  • Maternity pads
  • Breast pads 
  • Tissues 
  • Body butter
  • Make-up (ever hopeful 😂)

My Bag: 

  • Maternity notes
  • Birthing T-shirt: I actually fully intended on just picking up an oversized men’s t from a charity shop but ended up in Peacocks and picked up a very large nightshirt for £7
  • Nursing nightie
  • Nightgown
  • Books (I may be going in for induction so I’m not taking any boredom risks should it take a few days. I haven’t managed to read more than half a book in three years so hoping I’ll get a little time to do some)
  • iPad 
  • iPhone & Charger
  • FitBit Charger (be interesting to see how many calories I burn as well as steps walked 😂)
  • Jeans and Top for going home in
  • 5 pairs of proper BIG maternity pants (black)
  • Nursing bra (black)

Baby’s Bag:

I may appear to have packed a lot more than other blogs/sites recommend for baby but considering DS used up all 3 of his babygros within 6 hours of being born, due to vomit and our clumsiness, I’m not taking any chances this time.

  • Water wipes
  • Nappies (awaiting delivery of Naty by Nature nappies that we used with DS after our real nappy ideals were blown out the water)
  • 7 x Vests
  • 6 x Baby Gros
  • 3 x Hats
  • 3 x Cardigans
  • 2 x Scratch Mitts (as a couple of the babygros don’t have integrated ones)
  • Going home outfit
  • Blanket
  • Shawl that my mum knitted for my future children before she died.
  • 7 x Muslins 

DS’ Bag:

This is something I’m putting off until the last minute due to the fact if I go into labour spontaneously he’ll be staying at home anyway. Should I be booked in for induction then I’ll have time to pack for him so currently this is the list for him:

  • Underwear
  • 3 x Trousers
  • 5 x Tops
  • 2 x Jumpers
  • 3 x Pyjamas
  • Coat
  • Puddle suit
  • Wellies
  • Teddies: Bing, Rabbit, Doggie and Tiger
  • Toys (Pirate ship, Pirate island and accompanying accoutrement, pirate sword, iPad, colouring books and crayons, remote control digger)
  • Scooter and helmet
  • Books

In addition to all this lot there is, of course, the car seat in which I will be bringing the second of my babies home in (God willing) ❤️

    20 days to go

    Leave a Reply

    