New Year’s Eve

How times have changed. 

I write this, in bed, at 2210hrs. I hope to be fast asleep as we say goodbye to 2016 and welcome a brand new year in. 

The years I spent this exact time getting ready to start the partying seems a different lifetime ago but as I listen to DS’ gentle slumber beside me and feel Peanut’s not so gentle nudges within me I smile and think it’s not such a bad thing. I’m a different person now and I can’t think of anywhere I’d rather be or anyone I’d rather spend the moment with than where I am, and who I am with, right now.

We’ve come back to my hometown for New Year this year and although I won’t be larging it up in my old local like I did before, frolicking on the beach at midnight before dragging myself back home at 5am, I have spent a most wonderful evening with people very important and special to me and for that I am grateful.

2016 hasn’t been the worst year, though it hasn’t been easy either. We’ve had our fair share of worries, financial hardship and turmoil but we have also made some wonderful memories with our beautiful boy, watched him grow another year older, have enjoyed good health all round and of course managed to conceive and nurture Peanut for 24 whole weeks.

2017, I’m sure, will bring with it more turmoil and more hardship but it’ll also (hopefully) bring the safe and healthy arrival of our much longed for second child and a move to a more suitable home And for those points alone I say: “bring it on 2017, I’m welcoming you with open arms and long for what you have in store.”

Happy New Year guys, thank you for taking the time to follow my journey and I truly hope 2017 is kind to everyone. Much love.

Leave a Reply

