This is a monumental week. This week everything changes. This week means that if my baby has to come early (not that there’s any reason for this, just ‘ifs’) the medical world will do all it can to help it survive. I do kind of breathe a small sigh of relief at this milestone.

Woke up at 4.30 this morning…. GAH! OH ‘helpfully’ took DS out from 12-3, so I could rest!!! I told him that he could have got up with him for that, so spent those 3 hours watching ‘Frequency’ and doing the housework… genius idea OH, genius!

The Baby:

Photo credit: Babycenter
Peanut is now growing steadily. It has gained about 4 ounces since last week which makes it about 1 1/3 Ib and 11.5″ long, about the length of an ear of corn. It’s body is filling out proportionally now and will soon start to plump up as fat will soon start to gather under its skin. 

The brain is growing quickly now, and the taste buds continue to develop. 

His lungs are developing “branches” of the respiratory “tree” as well as cells that produce surfactant, a substance that will help his air sacs inflate once he hits the outside world and although the skin is still thin and translucent it will start to change very soon.

Any hair that maybe growing on Peanuts hair will still be white at this stage as pigment hasn’t been formed yet.

Me:

I continue to expand at what seems to me an alarming rate, not helped by Christmas. I have now eaten all the chocolates and all the cakes and mince pies have gone so once I get going home put the way (tomorrow), I can get back to a healthy lifestyle and try and kerb some of this extra weight that has nothing to do with baby.

Noticed today that boobs aren’t sore anymore, now this may have been the case for a few days and I’ve only just realised, or it’s just happened today, who knows but hallelujah!!!

My nails are getting to be beautiful once again and hair is thickening (I love this about pregnancy).

Thanks to relaxin I have managed to pull a muscle in my left hand and left foot (go figure) which has rendered it pretty much useless and me in agony. I’m praying it will heal soon because it’s very debilitating and more than uncomfortable.

Arm still sore from whooping cough vaccine and feeling jaded still from that, or flu jab, or both.

Still no hip/pelvis or knee pain this week which is nice. 

Photo credit: BabyCenter

112 days to go.

2 thoughts on “24 Weeks Pregnant

Leave a Reply

