Another week under our belt. A week of considerable change where Peanut is concerned. I’ve gone from rarely feeling any movement to now feeling definite and consistent movement and it’s verging on forming a routine, of course this routine is in the evenings and about 3am… please don’t say we’ve got another night owl on our hands.

We leave Center Parcs today and head home which DS is thrilled about (he’s missed his toys very, very much apparently) and I’m eager to get the Christmas tree up and decorate the house to make it all festive. Although I’ve enjoyed our time away self catering holidays are never much of a holiday, it’s the everyday mundane made more difficult because you don’t have all you need, when you need it. Mum’s still race around after everyone, doing everything regardless of where they are!

Baby:

Photo credit: BabyCenter

This week Peanut is around 10.5 inches from crown to heel and between 11 and 12.5oz is now about the size of a large carrot.

The placenta has been growing throughout the pregnancy, and until this week, has been heavier than baby. From now though, Peanut’s growth will dwarf the placenta’s, although it will still continue to grow and provide nourishment until birth. 

This week sees baby starting to swallow a bit of amniotic fluid each day, this is done, not only for nutrition and hydration, but also to practice swallowing and digesting. Due to baby’s taste buds developing too, Peanut will start tasting the foods that flavour the amniotic fluid so the fluid differs from day to day depending on what I’ve been eating. In fact, researchers have noted that babies who were exposed to certain tastes in utero via the amniotic fluid were more eager to eat foods with those same tastes after birth. This may explain why DS loves fruit and yogurt so much.

Peanut’s arms and legs are now finally in proportion, neurons are now connected between the brain and muscles and cartilage is now turning to bone. This all means that Peanut has greater control over limb movements.

The eyes are rapidly moving now behind closed eyelids, eyebrows are thickening and those beautiful lips are more defined (as we could see quite clearly in last week’s scan. Although Peanut’s skin is still transparent it is gradually turning from pink to red as capillaries begin to form underneath.

Me:


As for me, I continue to grow and this week have really noticed a growth spurt as my skin has been quite unconfortably stretched. I dug out the biooil to try and alleviate the sensation. 

My hips and knees are causing me great discomfort at night in bed and I’m having to use a pillow now in between my knees to ease this. 

I have noticed an increase in vaginal (sorry, TMI) discharge in the last week and my boobs continue to feel like they’re being ripped off my chest whenever I remove my bra which makes getting frisky a real turn off, along with baby’s movements being strongest at ‘that time of night’ OH hasn’t got a hope in hell’s chance.

DS doesn’t say there’s been any change in my milk at the moment, though the left side has completely dried up now. I am expecting this to happen soonish, according to the literature I’ve been reading on the matter. 

I do have more energy and now holiday and birthday madness is now over I’m going to concentrate on getting DS back into a normal routine and me into some sort of exercise regime.

133 days to go

Leave a Reply

