Another milestone breached… I got through 16 weeks with no bleed (I obsessively checked every time I went to the toilet, for the entire week, I kid you not). If history had any influence on the present I could now believe I was sitting pretty for the remainder of this miracle pregnancy, of course I know this isn’t the case but am still trying to make myself relax a bit more and starting yoga again is helping this. I have even been looking at babygros (I know, get me pushing the boundaries of my sanity). Of course I’ve seen the most delightful ones that I’d buy in a flash if only I had some money. Besides, I still feel it’s way too early to buy anything and won’t until atleast 30 weeks but it’s nice to look around.

DS had another bad night and woke at 11 insisting on sleeping in our bed, by sound this he slept until 6 so he actually had a good night, we however had a terrible one. We’ve had a word today and I’m going to layer him up so he isn’t cold so here’s hoping.

I also went up to Bovis today and chose all our floorings, tiles and kitchen… job done! I’m pretty happy with it too but seeing it in its entirety will tell the real story.

So onto this week and what it holds for baby…

Baby:

Photo credit: BabyCentre

This week Peanut is about 5 inches long, weighs about 140g and is the size of a Apple. 

The skeleton is mostly rubbery cartilage, but will start to harden as the weeks pass. Fat is starting to form under baby’s skin and will continue to build until birth. A protective substance called myelin is beginning to wrap around the spinal cord. Sweat glands are starting to develop and the umbilical cord is growing stronger and thicker. 

Simple reflexes such as sucking, swallowing and blinking have been mastered and baby is most likely getting bouts of hiccups.

Me:


One word… huge!!

I am now mostly in maternity clothes (barring some still forgiving ‘normal’ empire line dresses I have). No nausea still, no headaches and not as exhausted so have started my prenatal fitness regime now.

I am suffering from mild round ligament pain but this usually only causes me an issue when I’m walking any distance. I’m hoping yoga will correct this somewhat. 

Still peeing for England which is making for regular broken night sleeps and I’m now at that point where I’m having to change position when peeing to insure bladder is truly empty to prevent rapid revisits.

Weight… wait for it, this will shock you to the core… 9st 12Ib. I kid you not, that’s a 7Ib gain in a fortnight 😱

Leave a Reply

